Overview and terms

Serverless Package Model (SPM) defines the model that Package developers need to use and the specification to which the Package developers must conform. From the perspective of composition, SPM includes Application and Component. From the perspective of file trees, SPM includes publish.yaml files for self-description and business code.

Package category

picture alt

Packages are divided into three categories:

  • Component: A component is a module that implements specific services, such as function deployment, application debugging, etc. Usually, a business corresponds to a component, which implements different functions through different methods and different parameters; components can be inherited.

    Example: Alibaba Cloud Function Compute (FC) component, there are many methods such as deploy, invoke, instance, logs, etc. Users can specify different methods and input corresponding parameters to achieve different function; the Function Compute (FC) component relies on the fc-deploy component to implement the function deployment capability, and the fc-logs component to implement the function log viewing capability;

  • Plugin: A plug-in is a lightweight business implementation module. Usually, a plug-in can implement a lightweight capability. It is executed before and after the component is executed, and the parameters are processed.

    Example: Before deploying a business, it needs to be compiled. When the source code directory configured by the user is ./code, it is compiled through the compilation plugin, and the product is placed in the ./dist directory. The plug-in can process the input parameters configured by the user according to the specification, and then pass it to the component for deployment and other operations;

  • Application: Application refers to the user's serverless application or business. Usually, a Yaml represents an application, and a group of Yaml represents different environments of an application; an application can include multiple services, and each service can only correspond to one Component, before and after the component, there can be multiple plug-ins involved;

    Example: If the user has s.release.yaml locally, it means that it is a Serverless application and it is an online environment. In addition, the application also has a s.dev.yaml which is the Yaml used in the development environment. In this application, there are 3 services, service 1 and service 3 use component 1, service 2 uses component 2, and service 1 will execute plug-in 1 and plug-in 2 before execution, and service 2 will execute plug-in 1 before execution. And plugin 3, service 3 will execute plugin 4 before execution, and plugin 5 will be executed after execution;

The relationship of the three in a process:

Picture alt

The similarities and differences between components and plugins:

  • Same: both are codes or scripts that implement specific business logic;
  • different:
    • Different positioning:
      • Components are complete business logic, relatively heavy and can be used alone;
      • The plug-in is a lightweight plug-in, used with the component, and plays a role before and after the component is executed;
    • behave differently:
      • Components will have different methods and different parameters to achieve different functions;
      • The plug-in has only a fixed method. Although it can accept different parameters, the degree of freedom and flexibility is relatively low, and the degree of professionalism is relatively high;

Package and Package Model

Package consists of standard code that can implement a feature or represent a component or an application. Package Model represents a specification and a group of rules.

  • Package consist of the code that conforms to the SPM specification, which is used to implement model features, including but not limited to deploying business logics to the Serverless platform and debugging the Serverless application code.
  • Package Model is the Package development specification of Serverless Devs. Only Serverless Package that conforms to the specification can be recognized by Serverless Devs developer tools and can be published to Serverless Registry platforms that follow the Serverless Registry Model specification.
Edit this page on GitHub Updated at Fri, Nov 25, 2022

概述和术语

Serverless Package Model(SPM) 是 Package 开发者所需要使用的模型,以及遵循的规范。从形态组成纬度包括应用与组件两部分;同文件树组成来看包括用于自描述的publish.yaml文件,以及业务代码。

Package 分类

图片alt

Package 分为三类:

  • 组件(Component):组件是一个实现具体业务的模块,例如函数的部署、应用的调试等。通常情况下一个业务对应一个组件,通过不同方法,不同参数,实现不同的功能;组件可以被继承。

    举例:阿里云函数计算(FC)组件,有deployinvokeinstancelogs等诸多方法,用户可以通过指定不同的方法,以及对应的参数的传入,实现不同的功能;函数计算(FC)组件依赖了fc-deploy组件实现了函数的部署能力,依赖了fc-logs组件实现了函数日志查看能力;

  • 插件(Plugin):插件是一个轻量化的业务实现模块,通常情况下一个插件可以实现一个轻量化能力,是在组件执行前后伴随执行,并会对参数进行处理。

    举例:某业务在进行部署之前,需要进行编译操作,当用户配置的源代码目录为./code后,通过编译插件进行编译,将产物放在了./dist目录,此时插件可以按照规范,对用户配置的入参进行处理,在传递给组件进行部署等操作;

  • 应用(Application):应用指的是用户的 Serverless 应用或者业务,通常情况下一个 Yaml 表示一个应用,一组 Yaml 表示一个应用的不同环境;应用可以包括多个 Service,每个 Service 只可以对应一个组件,伴随组件前后,可以有多个插件参与;

    举例:用户本地有s.release.yaml表示的是一个 Serverless 应用,且是线上环境,除此之外,该应用还有一个s.dev.yaml是开发环境使用的 Yaml,在该应用中,有3个服务,服务1和服务3用了组件1,服务2用了组件2,且服务1在执行前会执行插件1和插件2,服务2在执行前会执行插件1和插件3,服务3在执行前会执行插件4,在执行后会执行插件5;

在一个流程中的三者的关系:

图片alt

其中组件和插件的异同:

  • 同:都是实现具体业务逻辑的代码或者脚本;
  • 异:
    • 定位不同:
      • 组件是完整的业务逻辑,相对较重,可单独使用;
      • 插件是轻量化的插拔,配合组件使用,在组件执行前后发挥作用;
    • 行为不同:
      • 组件会有不同的方法,以及不同的参数来实现不同的功能;
      • 插件只有固定的方法,尽管可以接受不同的参数,但是自由度和灵活度相对来说比较低,专业程度却比较高;

Package 与 Package Model

相对来说,Package是一个实际的产物,由规范的代码组成,目的是完成某个功能或者表示一个案例;而Package Model相对来说是抽象的存在,表示的是一种规范与规则。

  • Package是由指符合 SPM 规范的代码,其目标是用来实现模型功能,包括不限于部署业务逻辑到 Serverless 平台,调试 Serverless 应用代码等;
  • Package Model 是 Serverless Devs 的 Package 开发规范,只有按照该模型,遵循该规范的 Serverless Package 才可以被 Serverless Devs 开发者工具 所识别,并且可以成功的发布在符合 Serverless Registry Model 规范的 Serverless Registry 平台上;
在 GitHub 上编辑本页面 更新时间: Wed, Sep 21, 2022